Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes & Best Fudgy Frosting

Image

Do you like chocolate?

Are you a human being?

Do you like food?

All obvious questions, I know.

These cupcakes are very dark, I might consider going to the dark side to get them.

Image

These cupcakes are PERFECT for a lazy day, they cook for 18-20 minutes, so you can whip up the frosting while you salivate.

Plus, they are totally vegan! How cool is that? No eggs, butter, milk, or even milk substitute! Now, I know I mentioned something about not being totally vegan in a past post, and that might confuse you! Because my first recipe was a super unhealthy cake with buttercream icing, and marshmallow fondant. And that’s pretty far from vegan. So here’s my little story.

I used to get sick a LOT, and I got REALLY sick of that. I ended up getting sick before a big Cross Country meet, and not recovering fully until the season was done. So basically, all that summer running down the tubes.

Image

That was a huge bummer, and I hated always missing things.  So we started to do some research.  My mom read Eat to Live and the China Study. We started eating less meat, and more beans and leafy greens. Kale, spinach, romaine, etc.  After reading something, I decided that lessening dairy in my diet might help my face clear up.

Image

So. I stopped drinking full glasses of milk. (Yes, this is almond milk.)

And I only ate a tiny bite when my family had ice cream. Eventually I got sick of my face. I cut out all obvious dairy. Milk, yogurt, cheese, cream, ice cream… I LOVE BUTTER.

But I gave up that too. I have always been the queen of dairy at our house, so it was a huge sacrifice.

One day I ate an ice cream sandwich. My acne spiked after that, and it was awful. I decided to really pay attention to any dairy. I started to read all ingredient lists…

I realized that chocolate chips, sliced bread, and many processed foods have milk in them. It kind of woke me up!

I was like “Whoa! I haven’t been eating NO dairy. I had milk in my bread this morning!”

So this has lead me here. I haven’t had any dairy for at least 3 months.

My face IS recovering. But I’m thinking about cutting out gluten as well.

This recipe is NOT gluten free, but it’s Vegan, and hopefully free of anything you’re sensitive or allergic to.

Image

It’s super simple. Mix the dry ingredients together.

Image

Mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl, and then add to dry.

Image

This batter is so yummy, you’ll be tempted to lick the entire bowl clean.

Image

Put in pans and cook! Easy peasy.

Image

Chocolate Cupcakes  (I found the recipe online, I’ll add the link when I find it)

1 1/2 cups flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1 cup sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup coffee (ready to drink, not dry coffee)

1 Tbsp white vinegar

2 tsp vanilla

6 Tbsp (1/4 cup & 2 Tbsp) Olive Oil

Whisk flour, cocoa, sugar, baking soda, and salt until smooth. (really smooth, no lumps) You could sift it instead if you wish.

Mix coffee, vinegar, vanilla , and oil in a separate bowl. Pour wet into dry and mix. It should be thin & lumpy. (I know this sound weird, but trust me, these cupcakes are SUPER moist and not lumpy)  Bake @ 350 F for 18-20 minutes and cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans.

Best Fudgy Frosting

2 Tbsp water & 1 tsp instant coffee (disolved)

3 Tbsp extra-dark cocoa (It makes it better, but regular cocoa powder will work also)

1 cup powdered sugar

2 tsp water

pinch of salt

Mix and spread on cooled cupcakes.

Image

Enjoy!

Do you have any food sensitivities? Let me know if you try this recipe. I’d love to hear YOUR opinion.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes & Best Fudgy Frosting

  1. I was dairy and soy free for several months when Lily was a baby because she had milk and soy intolerances. I wish I had found a tried and true recipe like this in time for her 1st birthday. Instead we stuck a candle in a vegan cookie. These cupcakes sound delicious!

  2. Hi Sine! The cupcakes are delicious. Through this experience I’ve learned a lot, and it’s opened my eyes to the world of food allergies and the awesome moms who deal with them every day.

Leave a Reply

