Dairy Free Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats

Image

Recently my mom made a wedding cake, with marshmallow fondant. She bought bags and bags of marshmallows, and we had some left. So she asked me to make some Rice Krispie treats. How could I resist? We decided that coconut oil would be a go-to substitute for butter! (Since I’m sensitive to all Dairy products)

Image

Yum. I made the first pan of original (plain) Rice Krispie treats, and thennn…. that chocolate addict part of my brain kept begging me to do something….

Add you know what.

So I caved.

I’ve recently discovered something delicious, Hershey’s Extra SPECIAL Dark Cocoa. Whoa! I love it so much, I have another recipe showcasing it coming soon.

Image

Isn’t this plate cute? It was a birthday present for my sister when she was little, complete with cute cups, and a matching teapot! So adorable.

Is your mouth watering yet? (not about the tea set, the treat!)

If you feel the need for chocolate and marshmallow in your life then make a pan to share, or devour while watching Netflix.

You will need:

6 cups of marshmallows, mini’s work best (or a 10 oz bag.)

6 cups of Rice cereal (Use the cheapest brand, or your favorite, brown rice is fine also)

3 Tablespoons of Coconut Oil (you can use refined or regular, my little brother doesn’t like coconut flavor, and he liked the original Rice Krispie treats with unrefined oil, the coconut oil was barely noticeable)

2 Tablespoons of Dark Cocoa (or regular, but you know my opinion)

Optional : You can melt some marshmallows & coconut oil in the microwave and put it on the top of the treats for presentation, your choice. DO IT. No pressure.

Melt the coconut oil in a pan over low heat, once melted, add the cocoa and stir until combined. Next, add the marshmallows, and stir until melted. When fully melted, and smooth, take the pan off the heat, and stir in the cereal. Oil up your hands, and press the mixture into an oiled 9×13 pan. If you want don’t want the coconut flavor to be strong, use olive or canola oil to grease it. Clean out the pan with a spoon and eat or add to the bars. Cover with marshmallow/oil mix if you wish. They’ll harden immediately, so, you can slice and serve, or stash in the pantry for a chocolate day.

What do you make to satisfy your chocolate craving?

2 thoughts on “Dairy Free Chocolate Rice Krispie Treats

  1. I am a big fan of making hot chocolate to satisfy all my chocolate cravings lately. I make it with milk, cocoa powder, and either a tiny bit of honey or a tiny bit of maple syrup. It is delicious. I bet it’d be really good made with almond milk too.

Leave a Reply

