I’m gonna mug you.

Image

Hi! I’m sure you’ve seen a million “single serve” microwave recipes. My first reaction was “That is so not gonna work, I mean how do you make cake, in just over a minute cooking time?” But needless to say, I had to try it. Actually, I was more like forced. Our oven broke, slowly and surely. It all started when the stove top lighter stopped working, we are currently using a lighter every single time we want to use it. And then our oven door handle broke off, the clock went a little wacky, and last but not least, the oven stopped heating up when asked to. While in the search for a new one, I’m making it through somehow.

Image

I ended up making a couple different variations based on the original Chocolate Mocha Cake from Chocolate Covered Katie. The original recipe is yummy, but I had drooling siblings, and I really wanted to try new flavors… Soooo I made like 9 of them. And they all came out terrifically. It actually WORKS. Mixing flour, sugar, chocolate, and baking soda, pouring it into a mug, and microwaving it actually works. SHOCKER. Yeah, well it shocked me a little. I’m going to work on a date-sweetened recipe, I’m still not crazy about sugar, honey, or agave.

For my youngest two brothers, I made a Pink Lemonade cake, my baby brother (he’s 3) loves anything lemon, one of his most favorite snacks is sucking on raw halves of lemons. It’s kind of a hobby.

For my mom, I made a Chocolate Peanut Butter cake. (YUM.) And for my other brothers, I made an Andes chocolate cake. Above are the Andes chocolate and Chocolate Peanut Butter, I didn’t get a great picture of the Pink Lemonade before it was gobbled up. Do your family members/friends ever get tired of you hoarding their food until you’ve taken 50 pictures? Yeah, I don’t get it, it’s not like it’s gonna get cold–never mind…..

Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake (1 serving)

1 Tbsp + 2 tsp cocoa powder

3 Tbsp whole wheat flour

1 Tbsp peanut butter

Pinch of salt

1 Tbsp + 2 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp coconut oil

3 Tbsp milk ( I used almond)

1/4 tsp vanilla

Combine dry, I ground my dry mixture in a coffee grinder, to smooth out the texture of the whole wheat flour. This step is totally optional. Add liquid, pour into mug, drop spoonful of peanut butter onto top, swirl into cake for marbled effect. Then microwave 75 seconds. If your microwave is higher powered, then 45-50 seconds should do it.

Chocolate Mint Cake

1 Tbsp + 2 tsp cocoa powder

3 Tbsp flour

pinch of salt

1 Tbsp + 2 tsp sugar (or honey or agave)

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp coconut oil

3 Tbsp milk

1/4 tsp peppermint extract

1/4 tsp vanilla

Combine dry, add liquid. Microwave 75 seconds, or 45-50 in a high power microwave. Enjoy!

Pink Lemonade Cake

5 Tbsp flour

pinch of salt

1 Tbsp + 2 tsp sugar (or honey, agave)

1/4 tsp baking powder

1 Tbsp coconut oil

3 Tbsp milk

1/4 tsp vanilla

1 tsp pomegranate juice

1/4 tsp lemon extract

If you want a more pinky hue, add 2-3 drops of red food coloring. Combine dry, add liquid, microwave 75 seconds, 45-50 in high powered microwave.

Leave a Reply

